携手新神

2020年7月

上帝欢呼

没有错!我想写的就是“上帝欢呼”。我们熟悉的是“上帝说”,整本圣经都是这样的表达。上帝说话,我们就有了圣经,也就是上帝的话。上帝也透过祂的创造来向我们说话“诸天述说上帝的荣耀,穹苍传扬祂手的作为”(诗篇19:1)。圣经哪里有提到上帝欢呼呢?我们觉得上帝不可能欢呼,因为我们习惯性地认为,只有我们这些上帝的创造才可以向上帝欢呼,大声地欢欣快乐!我们不可能只去教会,而不唱歌欢呼,不是吗?我们主要是用欢呼来表达对上帝的敬拜。

在防疫禁令之下,我们都没法去实体教会,唯有想念那些唱歌欢呼颂赞的日子。当我们参加在线崇拜,唱歌欢呼的经历不再一样,有时我们会关掉麦克风来唱歌,有时我们干脆只是听,我们失去了集体唱诗的机会。难怪最近有些音乐家和技术人员举办了线上合唱!有些合唱团用不同语言,各个国家不同的文化和风格,演唱亚伦大祭司的祝福(民数记6:24-26)。他们的演出很出色,既温暖人心,又表达了对上帝的敬拜。在很多个夜晚,我心里回响着这首祝福歌入睡。在这段特别的时间,很多人用他们特别的方式来敬拜上帝。

让我们停一停,来听听上帝的欢呼。“耶和华 ─ 你的神是施行拯救、大有能力的主。他在你中间必因你欢欣喜乐,默然爱你,且因你喜乐而欢呼。”(西番雅书3:17)

上帝因以色列和它的仇敌顽梗悖逆的心,向他们施行审判。西番雅先知告诉我们上帝要复兴祂的子民,在这样的情况中,上帝唱着爱的歌,为子民而欢呼!上帝像一位母亲,温柔地在怀里抱着就要抓狂的孩子,安慰他的灵;上帝也像一位父亲,由衷开心地欢呼着,以恩典和怜悯护庇祂的孩子。上帝为着得救赎、得复兴的子民欢呼

不用因期待回教会再次和弟兄姊妹一起唱歌欢呼而心急如焚,你一定还有这样的机会。但在我们怀着期待等候的时间里,让我们花些时间听一听上帝唱出祂的爱歌,满有安慰、盼望、和平、爱和喜乐!

司布真说:上帝对祂子民的爱,令祂如此欢欣,以至于祂打破了永恒的寂静,从此,太阳月亮,宇宙星宿,都听到上帝唱着欢呼的歌。

让我们来到上帝的脚前,听祂唱摇篮曲,安慰我们忙乱的心,也听祂唱盼望、喜乐、得胜的战歌,滋润我们内在的灵。

”我一生一世必有恩惠慈爱随着我;我且要住在耶和华的殿中,直到永远。“(诗篇23:6)

简体中文

SBConnect

Jul 2020

Dear Fellow Alumni,

When God Sings!

No this isn’t a mistake! I meant when God sings! We are very familiar with the phrase when God speaks, because scripture is full of this. God has spoken and we have the Bible which is the Word of God. God has also spoken through His creation – the heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork (Psalm 19:1). But where in the Bible does it say that God sings? We cannot imagine that this could be possible because we are so used to thinking that only we, his creation, can sing to the Lord and make joyful noises! Imagine going to church and not singing? This is the primary means of our expression of worship to God!

During this lockdown where none of us could go to a physical building, we missed singing praises to God. With churches going online, singing has not been the same. Sometimes we mute our gadgets and try to sing, and other times we just listen to the songs being sung! We do miss corporate singing. It is no wonder that recently musicians and IT experts produced virtual choirs all over the world! A series of such choirs sang the Aaronic blessing (Numbers 6:24-26) in various languages with their countries’ distinct culture and flavor. The presentations were spectacular, heartwarming and worshipful, and many a night, I went to bed with this blessing ringing in my heart and mind! This unique season has enabled people to demonstrate their ingenuity in expressing worship to God.

But let’s pause for a minute and listen to God singing. The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing (Zephaniah 3:17).

God pronounced judgement over Israel and her enemies because of their stubborn and rebellious hearts. Zephaniah tells us of the restoration of God’s people, and it is in this light that God sings his song of love and joy over his people! He is like a mother who gently cradles her distraught child in her loving arms, and in so doing, calms its spirit. Then like a father, God sings with gusto as he hovers over his children with grace and mercy. It is a song of jubilation over a people who have been redeemed and restored.

Therefore do not be in a hurry to return to church so that you can sing and praise God corporately once more! That day will surely come! But as we wait with great anticipation, let us take time to hear God sing his loving songs of comfort, hope, peace, love and joy over you!

Spurgeon said God is so happy in the love which he bears to his people that he breaks the eternal silence, and sun and moon and stars with astonishment hear God chanting a hymn of joy.

Let us sit at his feet and listen to God sing both lullabies to comfort our frenzied hearts and strong songs of hope, joy and triumph that will nourish the core of our being!

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and l shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever (Psalm 23:6).