携手新神

2019年1月

新年蒙恩!在2019年中,透过主的话语,愿您有更多与主相遇的新经历和新盼望!这年,我反思何谓团队,何谓领导。我的健康在2018年下半年出现了问题,我的血压飙升,十分危险。这其中部分原因是我除了在英文神学系教书以外,还要兼顾很多角色和责任。医生和周围的人警告我要少工作、多休息,但要做的事情实在太多,而时间又真的太有限!你也有这样的感觉吗?好莱坞电影启发我关于团队和领导的思考。

最近,好莱坞出现了一大批英雄电影。我的问题是:美国队长(漫威复仇者联盟系列电影)、X教授(X战警系列电影)、蝙蝠侠(DC漫画的正义联盟)、青蜂侠、福尔摩斯、伊森亨特(不可能的任务),这些人物有什么共同点呢?

答案是:他们都有伙伴!他们都有团队!

蝙蝠侠的伙伴是罗宾,青蜂侠的伙伴是加藤,福尔摩斯的伙伴是华生医生,就连美国队长、X教授、伊森亨特,他们也有自己的团队。

真正的领袖都不是单枪匹马,他们需要伙伴和团队才能完成使命。领袖要学习与不同能力的人合作,让每个人都有最好的发挥。合作是什么?如果我们看这些英雄的例子,英雄之间也会互不相让!合作并不是团队中的每一个人从早到晚过得开开心心,既不是浪漫地搞个欢聚一堂的营火会,也不是去户外参与建立团队的游戏。就像丘吉尔说的:“如果两个人对所有事情都意见一致,那我们就不需要两个人了 。”

我们的目标不仅仅是有一个团队,更是让这个团队发挥作用。仅仅是整个团队穿一样的衣服并不能成事。成功的团队合作需要有信任、支持、清晰一致的目标和方向、完成任务需要的技能和资源、分享信息、开放生命、看清冲突、找到解决方法,不但自己承担责任,也能与人分享成就。

在中文里,一提到团队,就有“合作”这个词,而“合”在“作”之前。“合”也就是适合、一致、参与。“作”也就是做事情,通常是完成任务。 中文中“合作”这个词有很深的含义,适合、一致比完成任务更加重要。

《圣经》中也不乏团队合作的例子。提到分担带领神子民的工作,大家就会想起叶特罗给摩西的建议,在出埃及记18:1-27中有所记载。其中24-25节:

摩西听了他岳父的话,照着他所说的一切去做。摩西从以色列人中选出有才能的人,立他们为百姓的领袖,作千夫长、百夫长、五十夫长、十夫长。(和合本修订版)

摩西重视岳父的建议,他没有一意孤行。如果相反,我们可能会看到一位筋疲力尽的领袖和闷闷不乐的跟随者。

团队合作的另一个例子是新约中的教会,在使徒行传6:1-7,当使徒的工作太多,以至忽略了一些寡妇的需要,他们就选出七位可靠、有好见证、被圣灵充满的人帮忙,让使徒专心于更重要的事情,也就是教导上帝的话语。

我感谢神赐我们谦卑服侍又有能力的一个团队,使《携手新神》得以面世。每个月你收到的这封信都是拓展部 Strategic Development Domain (SDD)出于爱的服侍。黄春慧同工负责格式和寄送,李振龙同工和陈永志同工负责短片、出版和媒体,还有勤勤恳恳的翻译团队将校友信译作中文。

你今天过得好吗?你的血压有多少呢?如果你的血压像我的一样高,或许你要自问是否苦于孤军奋战,卻未建立团队。如果你是领袖,你的团队如何描述你的领导风格呢?你能听到来自不同方面的声音吗?别人是想加入你的团队,还是逃离你的团队呢?

在2019年年初,愿我们学会服侍团队,也学会带领团队。愿我们的主供应足够的资源,让我们完成祂在我们身上的心意。

恩惠与平安

简体中文

SBConnect

Jan 2019

Blessed New Year! May 2019 bring you much hope and fresh encounters with our Lord through His Word!

This year, I’ve been thinking lots about teamwork and leadership. My health took a beating on the second half of 2018, with my blood pressure shooting dangerously high. The reason for my hypertension is that I have several roles and responsibilities apart from teaching a full load in SOTE. Doctors and those close to me warned me to cut down my workload and rest. But there’s so much to do… and so little time! Does that sound like you too? This is where  Hollywood movies taught me about teamwork and leadership.

Lately, Hollywood has been churning out many superhero movies. Here’s the question: What does Captain America (Marvel’s The Avengers series), Professor Xavier (X-Men series), Batman (DC Comic’s Justice League), The Green Hornet, Sherlock Holmes and Ethan Hunt (Mission Impossible) have in common?

They all have side-kicks! They all have a team!

Batman has his Robin, The Green Hornet has his Kato, and Sherlock Holmes has his Dr. Watson. Captain America, Professor Xavier and Ethan Hunt all have their team.

No true leader is a one-man-show. He needs his side-kick or team to achieve his goals. He learns to work alongside others of different abilities and make the best out of them. What is teamwork? If we take the example of the heroes above, we may conclude that teamwork is not just the ability to work together with all parties smiling at the end of the day. These superheroes even fought one another! Neither is it some kind of romanticized “feel-good, campfire get together” and singing Kumbaya. Or have a group of people come together for some outdoor team-building games. Winston Churchill once said, “If two people agree on everything, one of them is unnecessary!”

The goal is not to have a team, but to enable the team to work. Wearing the same shirt does not make the team work. Ingredients for successful teamwork includes trust and support, common clear goals and directions, skill sets and resources for the task, willingness to share information and life, recognizing conflicts and ability to work around them, and taking responsibility individually but sharing success with others.

The Chinese word for collaboration (i.e. teamwork) is 合作 (he zuo). The first-word 合 (he) comes before the second 作 (zuo). 合 means to fit, agree, and join. 作 means to do something, usually a task. Interestingly, it is important to fit and agree before a task gets done. The Chinese word for teamwork makes lots of sense.

The Bible is filled with examples of teamwork. One recalls Jethro’s advice to Moses to share out the task of leading God’s people in Exodus 18:1-27. We read in verses 24-26

“Moses listened to his father-in-law and did everything he said. He chose capable men from all Israel and made them leaders of the people, officials over thousands, hundreds, the fifties and tens. They served as judges for the people at all times. The difficult cases they brought to Moses, but the simple ones they decided themselves.”

Moses heeded his in-law’s advice. He didn’t go on his own. Otherwise, you can see a burn-out leader and very grumpy followers.

Another excellent example of teamwork in action is the New Testament church in Acts 6:1-7 when the Apostles’ work became over-bearing, and some widows’ needs were overlooked. They assigned seven reliable, well-tested and full of the Spirit men to help these Apostle while they concentrate on the important task of teaching the Word of God.

I thank the Lord for giving me a fantastic, humble and capable team to make SBConnect possible. Each newsletter you receive every month is the labour of love from the Strategic Development Domain (SDD). Jen Ng does the formatting and mailing while Chang Loong and Andrew work on the videos, publicity and media stuff. And did I mention a team of dedicated translators who work quietly behind the scenes so that our Chinese SBConnect gets to you?

How about you today? How’s your blood pressure? If it’s as high as mine, perhaps we need to ask if we are trying too hard to be solo fighters rather than team builders. If you are a leader, how would your people describe your leadership? Are alternative voices heard and listened to? Do people want to join you or jump out of the boat?

May 2019 begins with us learning to serve and lead in our team. May the Lord provide resources for you to accomplish what He wants of you.

Grace and peace