携手新神

2021年2月

今年在新冠疫情的影响之下有很多限制,我们庆祝春节的方式也和往年很不一样。

这个月,一份长达12页的报告让整个基督徒世界震惊,对拉维·撒迦利亚(Ravi Zacharias)的调查证据确凿,引起谴责。全世界的基督徒感到心碎,拉维·撒迦利亚国际事工和耶稣基督的福音受到质疑和中伤。拉维·撒迦利亚的事工和教导祝福了全世界那么多人,发生了这一切怎么解释呢?我大受打击,问了神很多问题,这样的事怎么会发生在大家公认的与神同行的人身上?

这个月神赐给我两篇好文章,一篇是 Nick Stumbo 写的,另一篇是曾金发牧师写的,曾牧师也是我们的校友。

Stumbo 说基督徒领袖的性指控并不罕见,玷污了耶稣基督的名,迅速败坏了他们的呼召。Stumbo 以五种主动改变这种不当行为的方法(点击此处阅读文章 ,只有英文版)。

在第三点中,Stumbo 提到应该跟进所有基督徒领袖的感情和关系方面的训练。如果置之不理,我们性健康方面的挣扎只能随时间恶化,而并不会好转。

曾金发牧师,在 Salt&light 中写了他的回应,告诉我们如何在悲哀中应对这次危机,我在这里只引用一些关键的几句话,希望你能阅读整篇文章(点击此处阅读文章,只有英文版)。

作为拉维的朋友,曾牧师曾经两次问了他几个尖锐的问题,拉维给出的只是他的官方答复。曾牧师之前并不怀疑,但后来得知拉维故意撒谎,感到很痛心。曾牧师说他原谅了拉维,作为基督徒,我们领受了主赐给我们不配得的恩典,每个人无一例外都领受了。赦免不只是一个教义,也是我们在耶稣基督里拥有特权而做的决定。我们应该端平心里的一把尺——一边是柔软的心肠,有饶恕的恩典;另一边是坚定的立场,有问责的正直,对就是对,错就是错。

曾牧师总结了四个教训,其中第四个是:让我们定睛在耶稣身上,注视祂的十字架,相信祂的好消息,因为不论人多么败坏,多么堕落,都仍然在祂的救赎之中。

愿下面这首古老的诗歌帮助我们在基督的十字架下站立得住,让我们俯伏在十架前,全然信靠救主耶稣

我心依傍主十架

在彼有生命泉

基督宝血已流出

洗我万众罪愆

十字架,十字架

永是我的荣耀

我众罪都洗清洁

惟靠耶稣宝血

(聆听诗歌)

简体中文

SBConnect

Feb 2021

We celebrated the lunar new year unlike no other new year as it was in the midst of Covid-19 pandemic with many restrictions!

It was also during this month that the Christian world was devastated with the 12 -page report of an investigation that was conducted on the late Ravi Zacharias from RZIM, the findings that were both compelling and condemning. Christians around the world have been shattered, the ministry of RZIM, and the Gospel of Christ has been questioned and tarnished. How does one make sense of all these especially when the ministry and teachings of this man had blest thousands of people worldwide? I for one was truly affected. I had numerous conversations with God about this matter and how this could happen to one reckoned as a man of God!

This month two articles were God-sent. One from Nick Stumbo and the other from Edmund Chan, our alumnus.

Stumbo concluded that this issue of sexual misconduct among Christian leaders is not uncommon…. is defaming the name of Christ and undermining their call at an alarming rate. He concludes with 5 ways to be proactive to change this pattern of misconduct (Click here to read his article) .

In point 3 Stumbo states that we should require ongoing emotional and relational training for all Christian leaders. Struggles with our negative sexual health do not get better when left unaddressed…. The struggle gets amplified over time.

Edmund Chan, in Salt&light gives an excellent response on how a grieving world should respond to this crisis. Let me quote a few key statements but would recommend that you read the entire article in this link (Click here to article).

Chan as a friend to Ravi had asked him some pointed questions on two occasions and Ravi had given him his rehearsed answer on both occasions. Chan gave him the benefit of the doubt but was deeply saddened to realize that my friend had deliberately lied. Chan went on to say that he has forgiven Ravi – As Christians, we embrace the undeserved grace that our Lord has shown unto us all. None of us is exempt. And forgiveness is not a mere doctrine but a decision and a special privilege that is ours in ChristHe went on to explain the need for a proper balance of posture – where there is a tender heartedness…forgiveness and grace, and position – where there is accountability and integrity, where right is right, and what is wrong is wrong.

Chan ends with four lessons. I quote the fourth – keep your eyes on Jesus – behold his cross and believe his gospel for no one (no matter how flawed or fallen) is beyond his redemptive reach.

May this ancient hymn cause us to stay rooted at the cross of Christ, with that posture of surrender and total dependence on Jesus our Saviour and Lord:

Jesus keep me near the cross

There a precious fountain

Free to all a healing stream

Flows from Calvary’s mountain

In the cross, in the cross

Be my glory ever

Till my raptured soul shall find

Rest beyond the river

(listen to the whole song here)

English (UK)