携手新神

2019年4月

“万军至耶和华与我们同在;雅各的神是我们的避难所!“(诗篇四十六7、11)

过去几个星期发生的事让很多人忧心忡忡。在复活节主日,斯里兰卡有八个地方发生自杀式爆炸,在教会和酒店造成超过多过250名无辜百姓伤亡,让斯里兰卡本来已脆弱的和平受到重创。两天之后,马尼拉发生6.1级地震,摩天大楼摇摇晃晃,一些建筑物倒塌,市民担惊受怕。这场地震夺去了十六人的生命。

但这些只是全球灾难的一小部分。你还记得日本九级大地震导致了福岛核泄漏吗?又记不记得2004年的印度洋海啸,仅仅在亚济就夺走了超二十万人的生命?灾难引起的恐慌仍然存在。

在叙利亚,对恐怖主义的战争仍然持续。在也门、苏丹和利比亚,国家领袖备受谴责或者已经下台。在北韩,核试的威胁前所未有。在印度和印度尼西亚,人们翘首以待他们的选举结果。在全世界各地,到处都有倒闭的企业,许多人被裁员,更多人今日不知明日如何。

我们生存在纷乱的世代,纷乱不是因为和平太靓丽,而是因为痛苦太真实。

不论我们的困难是经济、政治或是自然灾害,我们都尝试理解其中的原因,努力应对生命和财产的损失,也尝试紧紧抓住希望。我们恐惧战兢,为了去除我们的恐惧,我们寻求各种治疗、策略甚至是哲学。但这些只是治标不治本的方法。这些以人为本的方法很肤浅、也很短暂,并不能解决我们内心深处的问题。面对经济、政治或是自然灾害,我们能有何反应呢?当不幸临到我们,我们应该做什么呢?我们如何应对不堪一击的世界呢?

这时我想到诗篇46篇,这篇诗让我们瞥见在敌对的世界中的一点点希望。诗篇46篇呼喚我们作出决定,是独自使用自己的力量,或依赖上帝而生活。

诗篇46篇有三个很明显的场景:自然灾害(1-3节),战争(4-7节),还有战争之后的灾难(8-11节)。在每一种混乱和悲哀当中,我们能都找到合适的反应。当自然灾害令我们措手不及(1-3节),我们不会惧怕(第2节)。当我们的国家被敌人攻击的时候(4-7节),我们不会动摇(第5节)。当战争升级,我们周围的世界充满了流血牺牲(8-10节),神命令我们“安静”(第10节)。

在如此不自然发生的境况中,我们如何寻找超自然的力量呢?诗人两次提醒我们两次:“万军至耶和华与我们同在;雅各的神是我们的避难所!”(第7、11节)神的应许不会落空,他会以他的方式、照他的时间拯救我们。

对于诗人来说,神的应许是神与他同在。对于今天的我们来说,这个应许在以马内利的耶稣基督中显明。当我们的世界深受地震海啸冲击,当中国的护卫舰在南中国海航行,当战争的子弹穿过无辜儿童的头颅,当火焰在巴黎圣母院上方燃烧,当一位失业的父亲在街上打算找一份工作的时候,耶稣基督说:“我与你同在,我永远与你同在,直到世界的末了。”

因此,我们可以停止挣扎,安静,因为他是神。

恩惠与平安

简体中文

SBConnect

Apr 2019

“The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress” (Psalm 46:7;11).

The events in the past few weeks have made many people anxious. On Easter Sunday, suicide bombers in Sri Lanka blew themselves up at eight different sites. They slaughtered more than 250 unsuspecting people in churches and hotels and shattered the already fragile peace in this country. Two days later, skyscrapers in Metro Manila swayed, rocked by a 6.1 magnitude earthquake. Buildings collapsed and people panicked. Sixteen people lost their lives.

But these are not the only turmoil that shook the world. Remember the 9.0 magnitude earthquake that wiped out $100b in Japan and caused a meltdown in the Fukushima nuclear powerplant? Or the 2004 Indian ocean tsunami that took away more than 200,000 people in Aceh alone? But the horrors don’t stop there.

In Syria, the war against terrorism rages on. In Yemen, Sudan and Libya, their leaders were denounced or removed. In North Korea, the threat of a nuclear confrontation is ever so real. In India or in Indonesia, the people anxiously wait for the results of their recent elections. Around the world, we have businesses closing down, people who are retrenched, many more who are uncertain if their jobs will be still there tomorrow.

We live in troubled times, colored not by peace, but by the pain of chaos.

Whether our troubles are economic, political or natural, we try to make sense of it. We grapple with the loss of lives and property, and more significantly, the loss of hope. We fear and tremble. To get rid of our fears, we turn to therapies, strategies, and even philosophies. But as is so often the case, they treat just the symptoms. These anthropocentric approaches are superficial and short-lived, and they do not meet the deepest needs of the heart. In times of economic, political, or natural troubles, what should our response be? What should we do when bad things happen to us? How should we respond in a world that is collapsing?

This is where I turn our attention to Psalm 46. This song offers us a glimpse of hope in a hostile world. Psalm 46 calls us to a decision, a choice between exercising our independence with our own strength, or to live in dependence upon God.

Psalm 46 has three distinct scenes: natural disasters (vv.1-3), threats of war (vv.4-7), and the aftermath of war (vv. 8-11). Proper responses to such chaos and calamities are found in each scene. When natural calamities catch us by surprise (vv. 1-3), we will not fear (v. 2). When our own country is being attacked by enemies (vv. 4-7), we will not be moved (v. 5). When battles rage and the world around us seem to cry out for bloodshed (vv. 8-10), we are commanded to “be still” (v. 10).

And how can we find such supernatural strength in such unnatural circumstances? The psalmist reminds us twice in the refrain, “The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress” (vv. 7; 11). God always keeps His promises and always delivers, on His terms and in His time.

For the psalmist, it is a promise that God will be with him. But for us today, this promise is found in our Immanuel, Jesus Christ.  As the whole world reels from the earthquakes and tsunamis, as the Chinese frigates sail across the South China seas, as the bullets hit innocent young children caught in war zones, as the flames ravage the Notre Dame in Paris and as a jobless father roams in streets looking for a job, Jesus the Christ said “I am with you, I am always with you, till the end of ages”.

That is why we can cease striving and be still, for He is God.

Grace and peace